Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Wah!

It is just 60 degrees here today--the perfect day to get on my bike and just go. Problem is, it's also February break, which means the kids are home. Sooooo, no ride for me.

However. Due to the lack of activities that usually accompany my Wednesdays, I'm hoping to have the energy to spin tonight. Spin in a dark room right before bed, or ride in the bright sunshine (in FEBRUARY, people)? I know, it's a no-brainer; but when child care is an issue, you take what you can get. Right?

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Foodie:

So, remember how I was all, I'm going to eat right! last week? Yeah, that totally didn't happen. Getting on my bike didn't happen, and going to the gym definitely didn't happen. All in all, last week was pretty much a lazy week on my end. Obviously not the direction I was looking to go in.

So, while I was skiing this weekend, I did a little thinking. See, I'm not a religious person. I was raised Roman Catholic, but I never embraced religion in adulthood. I think the last time I gave up something for lent was when I was going to CCD and had to. And even then, I probably fudged it here and there. Anywho. Back to skiing. When we were on the lift, my daughter asked when Mardi Gras was, and then asked WHAT is was. Which got me thinking about lent, and giving things up...

So I checked, and lent begins next week. But I've started this week. I've given up gluten, sugar and dairy through lent, which ends on April 7th. That doesn't mean that on April 8th I'm going to gorge (although, it is Easter Sunday, which means that I'll probably eat well). But I'm hoping that for roughly 50 days, I'll do a much better job putting good things in my body, while getting rid of the bad stuff.

Later on today, I'm going to walk to the gym and do some weights. Right after I fill up on veggies and protein.

Monday, February 6, 2012

Food

There's a plate of brownies in my kitchen.

Mattio made them for the Super Bowl, and they are AWESOME (although, show me a brownie that's not awesome). They were so awesome, I had 2 last night. Along with chips, dip, and all kinds of other crap.

This is the part of my blog where I'm going to evaluate what I'm putting into my body, because--I'm not going to lie--it's not good. I know how to eat healthy; I've been to classes, seminars, nutritionists, Weight Watchers. I know that instead of Diet Coke, I should be drinking water. I know that instead of chips and crackers and cookies for a snack, I should be eating fruits and vegetables. I know all of this, and a lot of times, I choose to ignore it.

Instead, today, I'm choosing to ignore the brownies in my kitchen. I'm not going to eat them, because they're my gateway drug. They're the reason why, if I eat just 1, I'm going to stop at the store at some point today to pick up a Diet Coke. If I eat just 1, I'll open my cabinet later and rummage around looking for something sweet and cookie-like. And if I don't have anything sweet and cookie-like, maybe I'll pick something up when I get my Diet Coke. Do you see how quickly and easily I fall?

I'm ignoring the brownies, and I'm going to eat fruit if I'm looking for something sweet. I'm ignoring the brownies and I will NOT go out and get a Diet Coke. I'm ignoring the brownies, and going for a bike ride later. And if I keep ignoring those brownies, when I go for my bike rides, maybe eventually I'll go just a little bit faster.

There's a plate of brownies in my kitchen, and I'm ignoring them.

Thursday, February 2, 2012

75 miles to go

Hello, internet. Some of you out there might already know me as traciedesigns. I have this whole blog devoted to design, and shoes, and me, and shoes... but I thought it might be a bit much to add cycling into the mix—so here I am. Tracie, who rides her bike.

Truth be told, I started this blog because I committed to riding in the CT Challenge this year. Last year I rode 50 miles, and it was hard, and it was awesome. Last year was also my first full year riding, and I thought 50 miles would be a nice start to long-distance riding.

This year, I decided to up the ante and go for 75 miles. Remember, the ride I signed up for is called the CT CHALLENGE. It's meant to be CHALLENGING. There's some serious hills, and it's not like it's going to get easier the longer I go.

So, I might just be a little scared.

OK. I'm a lot scared.

I've got a long road ahead of me (ha! Do you see what I did there??), and I figured this blog would be a good way to get it out there and share my journey to ride 75 (really hilly) miles. I thought this would be a good place to talk about training, eating, and riding in general.

I'm still a newbie (and I'm in no rush to give up that title—heck, just the other day I learned how to pump up my tires [ooooohhhhh, you have to twist that little knob, too?]), so any advice you all have to give back as far as rides, tips and tricks? Hit me up in the comments.

In the meantime, let's clip in and go.